At the Society of American Florists’ (SAF) 131st annual convention, held in Amelia Island, Fla., Sept. 9-12, the organization recognized a number of our industry’s brightest stars with its annual awards and inductions.
• Floriculture Hall of Fame
The floral industry’s greatest honor was bestowed on Del Demaree Jr., AAF, of Syndicate Sales Inc., Kokomo, Ind., and Charles F. Walton of Smithers-Oasis Company, Kent, Ohio.

• Paul Ecke Jr. Award
In recognition of his exemplary devotion to his profession, industry and community, Terril Nell, Ph.D., AAF, floriculture professor at University of Florida from 1977 to 2012, received the Paul Ecke Jr. Award.
• Alex Laurie Award
Terry L. Ferriss, Ph.D., professor of horticulture at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls was honored for her contributions to floriculture research and education.
• John H. Walker Award
Lin Schmale, senior director of government relations at the Society of American Florists, received the John H. Walker Award in recognition of her contributions to the floral industry as an association executive.
• Tommy Bright Award
Recognizing lifetime achievement in floral presentation and education, this year’s award was presented to professional speaker and floral business educator Richard Seaboldt, AIFD, AAF, PFCI.
• Century Award
Five family-owned businesses received SAF’s 2015 Century Award. The award is presented to companies that have been in business for 100 years or more.
Allan’s Flowers, Prescott Valley, Ariz.
Brown Floral, Salt Lake City, Utah
Evans Flowers & Greenhouses, Peabody, Mass.
Furst Florist & Greenhouses, Dayton, Ohio
Ye Olde Yardley Florist, Yardley, Pa.


• Sylvia Cup
Loann Burke, AIFD, AAF, PFCI, Furst Florist & Greenhouses, Dayton, Ohio, won the grand prize in the 48th Annual “Sylvia Cup Design Competition.” The next two highest-scoring designers wereDerek Woodruff, AIFD, PFCI, CF, ofFloral Underground, Traverse City, Mich., and Jenna Naylor, AIFD, GMF,Bouquets, of Bloom with Jenna, Snellville, Ga.

The floral designs by Loann Burke, AIFD, AAF, PFCI, received the highest combined score in the 2015 “Sylvia Cup Design Competition.”


Comments are closed