During ceremonies at its recent National Symposium, “Imagine” (July 4-9), the American Institute of Floral Designers (AIFD) honored two people and one organization with its prestigious awards, installed a new slate of officers and board members, and inducted 26 new members.


• Award of Distinguished Service to AIFD
Eddie Payne, AIFD Fellow
Brooksville Florist
Dade City, Fla.
Mr. Payne is now recognized as a Fellow of the Institute. He is a past president, and he served on the AIFD board for nine years, on the AIFD Foundation Board, on the membership committee and as a Symposium chair.

Now recognized as an AIFD Fellow, Eddie Payne (center) was the recipient of the organization’s 2011 Award of Distinguished Service to AIFD. Tom Bowling (left), the new AIFD president, and Sharon McGukin (right), immediate past president, join Mr. Payne on stage for the presentation.

• AIFD Award of Merit – Industry
Kelly Mace
Kent, Ohio
This award is presented to professionals in the floral industry who are not members of AIFD but who serve a crucial role in advancing the industry. Ms. Mace was honored for her personal and professional dedication and her untiring support and enthusiasm for AIFD, its members and the floral industry as a whole.

Kelly Mace (center) received AIFD’s 2011 Award of Merit - Industry. Congratulating her are new AIFD president, Tom Bowling, and the organization’s immediate past president, Sharon McGukin.

• AIFD Award of Merit — Non-Industry
Bouquets to Art
San Francisco, Calif.
Bouquets to Art is the largest fundraiser for the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco and is one of the country’s premier floral events. The organization was recognized for generating and promoting awareness of floral art and for its support and use of AIFD designers.



• President:  Tom Bowling, AIFD, PFCI
Fairfield, Ohio

• Vice President:  John Kittinger, AIFD
Lexington, Ky.

• Secretary:  Tim Farrell, AIFD, AAF, PFCI
Farrell’s Florist Inc.
Dexter Hill, Pa.

• Treasurer:  Richard Salvaggio, AIFD, AAF, PFCI, CAFA
Los Angeles, Calif.

• President-elect:  Ann Jordan, AIFD, AAF
Ann Jordan Design Consulting
Naples, Maine.

• Immediate Past President:  Sharon McGukin, AIFD, AAF, PFCI
Carrollton, Ga.

• Membership Committee Chair:  Joyce Mason-Manheim, AIFD, PFCI
Tucson, Ariz.

• 2012 National Symposium Coordinator:  Sylvia Bird, AIFD, AAF, PFCI
Fort Myers, Fla.

• Executive Director:  Thomas C. Shaner, CAE
Baltimore, Md.



Janet Black, AIFD, AAF, PFCI
Designs Florist and Interiors
Bethel, Maine

Ted Bruehl, AIFD
The Chocolate Rose
Irving, Texas

Mary Linda Horn, AIFD, AAF, PFCI
Ostrander, Ohio

Suzie Kostick, AIFD, PFCI
Cenflo, Inc.
Rio Rancho, N.M.

Bill McKinley, AIFD
Kishwaukee College
Malta, Ill.

Ken Norman, AIFD
Colony Florist
Midland Park, N.J.


• North Central Chapter:  Jim Rauch, AIFD
Unique Designs Florist Studio
Dayton, Ohio

• South Central Chapter:  BJ Dyer, AIFD, AAF
Denver, Colo.

• South West Chapter:  Michael Quesada, AIFD
Kaleidscope Flowers
Santa Barbara, Calif.

• North West Chapter:  Mike Hollenbeck, AIFD
Floral Artistry Espresso Garden
Lewiston, Idaho

AIFD’s 2011 officers, board members and regional chapter representatives.

Front row (l-r): Tim Farrell, secretary; Joyce Mason-Monheim, membership chair; Sharon McGukin, past president; Tom Bowling, president; Ann Jordan, president-elect; John Kittinger, vice president; Richard Salvaggio, treasurer.

Standing (l-r): Ted Bruehl (board), Mike Hollenbeck (regional chapter rep), BJ Dyer (regional chapter rep), Sylvia Bird (2012 National Symposium chair), Bill McKinley (board), Suzie Kostick (board), Janet Black (board), Ken Norman (board), Jim Rauch (regional chapter rep), Michael Quesada (regional chapter rep).






Rebecca Carter, AIFD
Linda’s Flowers
Sanbornville, N.H.

Kwi Nam Cho, AIFD
Seoul, South Korea

Andrea Christopher-Snipes, AIFD
Greenville, S.C.

Amanda David, AIFD
The Flower Source
Menomonee Falls, Wis.

Rocio del Pilar Silva Davila, AIFD
Smithers Oasis de Mexico S.A. de C.V
Nuevo Leon, Mexico

Roslyn Dodds, AIFD
El Cajon, Calif.

Teresa Godfrey, AIFD
Joyous Creations Floral Design
Silver Spring, Md.

Tiffany Hammond, AIFD
Hennepin Technical College
Andover, Minn.

Kevin Allen Hinton, AIFD
Bankhead Flowers & Fine Gifts
New Albany, Miss.

Elizabeth M. Hohensee, AIFD
Studio Flora Diva
Asheville, N.C.

Enrika Karalius, AIFD
Flowers and Gift by Michelle
Crestwood, Ill.

Lesa Killian, AIFD
Ramsey, Minn.

Stephanie LaPrairie, AIFD
Stems Floral Art Gallery
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Tim Lawing, AIFD
Tim’s Touch Flowers & Gifts
Lexington, S.C.

Jacob H. McCall, AIFD
Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Carolyn E. Minutillo, AIFD
Lavender Hill LLC
Jeffersonville, Ind.

Tina Parkes, AIFD
Exeter Devon, England

Patience Pickner, AIFD, PFCI
The Picket Fence
Chamberlain, S.D.

Young Seomoon, AIFD
Seoul, South Korea

Nelson Clark Simpson, AIFD
Dobson, N.C.

Heather Sullivan, AIFD
Westfield, Mass.

Anthony Swick, AIFD
Bay Bouquet Floral Studio
Tampa, Fla.

Inta Taurins, AIFD
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Jenny Catherine Thomasson, AIFD
Stems, LLC
Florissant, Mo.

Erik J. Witcraft, AIFD
Vancouver, Wash.

Azheny Zdeb, AIFD
Floral Tango
Fair Lawn, N.J.



Florists' Review Enterprises, Inc..
PO Box 4368
Topeka, KS   66604

Phone: 800-367-4708
Local: 785-266-0888
Fax: 785-266-0333

©Copyright 2012 Florists' Review Enterprises